Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cutting for 4 months, advice going forward?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cutting for 4 months, advice going forward?

Height: 5'9''
    Weight: 170lbs
    Waist circumference: 31 inches

Squat: 315
    Bench: 215
    Romanian Deadlift: 385 (gym only has hex plates)

I've been training for a few years making decent progress on some BBM templates. Last year I joined the army I bulked up from 170 to a hefty 185lbs with a 37 inch waist before I realized... "Geez... Im fat..."

Since then I've been cutting and trying to maintain/improve my lifts while bringing my waist size down as much as possible. I cut to about 172, eating 2200 calories/day before progress started stalling out. After a couple weeks at maintenance I dropped the calories to 2000 and pressed forward. Life sucked but the scale was moving again.

At the moment I'm taking two weeks at maintenance because I'll be out in the field but after that I plan on jumping right back in.

I'm considering pushing this cut all the way down to a 28-29 inch waist since I want abs, it will benefit my cardio (less of a priority at the moment), and I feel it will give me room to bulk. But I'm torn because I REALLY need more muscle mass. Especially in my upper body which has always been a struggle.

Any advice would be appreciated!

It really depends what you want to do.

If you want to gain more muscle mass, I'd do that in a slow manner after a few weeks of weight maintenance. You're not going to gain more muscle if you get leaner prior to reversing course, so you don't need to do that unless you just want to get leaner.
    Barbell Medicine "With you from bench to bedside"
    ///Website /// Instagram /// Peri™ Rx /// Whey Rx /// Barbell Medicine Podcast/// Newsletter /// Seminars ///

Comment

That's true, I want to be both leaner and more muscular but I need to determine which one takes priority at the moment.