This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finished with LP?

I'm a 42 yo woman. I started lifting for general health purposes in 2014 and have been consistent with it since then, using I guess what would be medium weight and reps. I never pushed very hard with heavy weight/low rep work because I've spent a lot of that time eating in a deficit (going from 220 to 160 lbs @ 5'6") and found that my energy level was too low to handle very heavy work. Last fall after spinning my wheels at 160 for a year I crashed a bit and went back up to 173. I decided to take the winter off of dieting and take the opportunity to do the SS novice program.

My lifts are at:

Bench 103x3x5
    Press 70x3x5
    Squat 142.5x3x5
    DL 220x3x3 / 205x5x3

I've been increasing the upper lifts by 1 lb. I stalled at 70# for press and reset 10%, and when I hit 70 again still stalled. I just failed at 104 for bench on the first set of 3.

With squat, I'm increasing 2.5# only after I go through 5x3, 4x4, and 3x5. Deadlift I've been doing twice a week and move up 2.5 lbs and it is going fine.

My questions are, am I finished with my LP because of where I am with my upper lifts and squat? I'm still at 173 lbs and when I look at where other (smaller) women get, it seems like my lifts are low Especially squats. However, if I consider that I am a 42 yo woman with no athletic inclination/gifts and who works a very sedentary job, maybe I'm okay? I don't want to "wuss out" and quit the LP early but I don't want to spin my wheels if it's time to move on. And, yes, I'd like to finish losing weight, which will require me to cut calories.

Thanks in advance.

Hi there,